Quick overview of my past year working in two school libraries

This past year, I have been working in two school libraries. In these two 50% roles, I provided library services to students, teachers and other staff members. I supported the delivery of curriculum and the development of information literacy by helping patrons locate and use relevant print and electronic resources. I maintained the physical collections by shelving and repairing library materials. I facilitated book exchanges, literacy initiatives, provide readers advisory, and read aloud to classes. I maintained the library budgets, selected and catalogued new library resources. I promoted library services and literacy activities within the school and parent community through newsletters, posters and bulletin board displays. These have included providing information on the electronic resources purchased by the boards as well as free resources. I held two Scholastic Book Fairs, ran an event to participate in an Official Guinness World Record attempt for students reading and talking about a book, and promoted numerous other special events such as Pink Shirt Day, Forest of Reading, Autism Awareness and the Winter Olympics. I also participated in a some new initiatives. One of these was to move the school library toward a learning commons layout. I reorganized the physical layout of library and purchased new moveable library furniture. My presentation for this initiative is available at http://www.slideshare.net/sandragallipeau.

I continued my commitment to volunteering by again being the Strong Start Volunteer Site Coordinator at a school and took on additional roles as a Steering Committee Member of the Ontario Library Association Forest of Reading program for Red Maple and as a member of the Library Advisory Committee for the WCDSB.

Leave a Reply

